Kathmandu Nepal


The largest municipality and capital of Nepal is Kathmandu.

Additionally, it houses the SAARC headquarters. In contrast to Sub Metropolitian City or Nagar City, it is the only city in Nepal with the administrative status of Mahanagar (Metropolitan City). Additionally known as “Kantipur” informally, Kathmandu. The city is located in central Nepal’s bowl-shaped Kathmandu Valley at a height of about 1,400 metres (4,600 feet). There are four significant hills surrounding it: Shivapuri, Phulchoki, Nagarjun, and Chandragiri. The highest population density in the nation is found in the Kathmandu Valley, which is comprised of three districts: Kathmandu, Lalitpur, and Bhaktapur.

Scroll to Top